The Greyboy Allstars

Seminal groove band The Greyboy Allstars are currently celebrating their 25th year together.

Initially formed in 1993 as the backing band for rare groove luminary DJ Greyboy at the release party for his groundbreaking album, ‘Freestylin,’ it quickly became a longterm project with a string of critically acclaimed albums and world tours. The founding members include Denson, guitarist Mike Andrews (aka Elgin Park), keyboardist Robert Walter, bassist Chris Stillwell, and drummer Zak Najor. The Greyboy Allstars started playing weekly at San Diego’s now defunct Green Circle, weekends at San Francisco’s Elbo Room and various clubs throughout Europe.

Their unique sound, reminiscent of ’60’s boogaloo and ’70’s funky jazz was captured on 1995’s West Coast Boogaloo, 1997’s A Town Called Earth, 2007’s What Happened To Television and 2013’s Inland Emperor.

The Greyboy Allstars’ success has served as a platform for the band’s individual members to launch highly successful and substantially diverse solo careers. Organ and synth master Robert Walter leads his own band, the 20th Congress, while also a member of Phish bassist Mike Gordon’s band. Guitarist/composer Elgin Park is among the most in-demand Hollywood composers, scoring films and television shows like ‘Donnie Darko,’ ‘Freaks and Geeks,’ ’The Big Sick’ and ‘Bridesmaids’).

Saxophonist Karl Denson fronts his own touring juggernaut Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe and also serves as saxophonist in The Rolling Stones having replaced Bobby Keys upon his passing. Bassist Chris Stillwell and drummer Aaron Redfield are one of the most sought after rhythm sections in any genre with a steady flow of high profile session and touring work.